Exam Board: Pearson    Duration: 2 years    Entry Requirements: Grade 4-4 in GCSE Combined Science or Grade 4 in GCSE Biology, Grade 4 in GCSE English and Grade 4 in GCSE Mathematics.

Reasons to study Health and Social Care BTEC Level 3

The BTEC Level 3 in Health and Social Care aims to provide students with an introduction to the health and social care sector. It covers a wide range of topics including elements of Psychology, Sociology and Law. These topics can be applied to real life settings from early years to residential care. This qualification is the equivalent of 1 or 2 A Levels depending on the level taken.

Students will cover physical, intellectual, emotional, and social development across the human lifespan as well as explore what it is like to work in the health and social care sector, including the roles and responsibilities of workers and organisations such as the Care Quality Commission and Nursing and Midwifery Council. Students will also focus on the principles and practicalities that underpin meeting individual care and support needs.

Course Outline

Single A Level – BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate:
Students have the opportunity to take the BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care which is the equivalent in size to one A level.

It is for students interested in learning about the health and social care sector alongside other fields of study, probably with a view to progression to a wide range of degree courses, not necessarily the health or social care sector.

Students studying this qualification will study four mandatory units over the two years covering the following content areas:
Human Life Span Development
Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs
Working in Health and Social Care
Meeting Individual Needs

Double A Level – BTEC Level 3 National Diploma:
Students who want to progress directly into a career
in the Health Care Sector should consider the double
A Level course.

Students will study the same units
required in the single A level, but will undertake four additional units:
Promoting Public Health
Work Experience in Health and Social Care
Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care
Principle of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care


Assessment Outline

The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate
Equivalent to 1 A Level, 4 units of study of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are externally assessed.

The BTEC Level 3 National Diploma
Equivalent to 2 A Levels, 8 units of study of which six are mandatory and 3 are externally assessed.

Progression Routes and Career Paths

  • Registered Nurse
  • Social Worker
  • Healthcare Assistant
  • Occupational Therapist
  • Care Home Manager
  • Psychotherapist
  • Youth Worker
  • Mental Health Worker
  • Community Worker
  • Health Promotion Specialist
  • Counsellor

The Romero’s H&SC Department

Expert guidance from a highly experienced teacher.

The lead teacher for the subject is a fully qualified nurse and has had years of industry specific experience from which to base teaching.

The opportunity to complete the work placement unit, giving students practical first-hand experience in the health and care sector.

The settings we use are care homes, special educational settings and hospitals.

Further Information

For more information or if you have any questions about the Health and Social Care BTEC course please contact:

Miss A Saksena – Lead Teacher for Key Stage 5 Health and Social Care [email protected]