The Governors act as ‘critical friends’ to the school working closely with the Headteacher and play a strategic role in the running of the school. This includes maintaining the ethos of St Oscar Romero’s as a Catholic school under the direction of the Bishop, setting aims and objectives, adopting policies and setting targets.

Governors are also a visible presence in the school sitting on interview panels for senior members of staff and attending school events supporting staff and students in their achievements and successes.

The Governors are drawn from the local community and freely give their time and expertise in order to support the work of the school. There are several different categories of Governor:

Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocese;
Parent Governors are appointed by self-nomination and parent vote where necessary;
Staff Governors are appointed by self-nomination and staff vote where necessary;
Local Authority and Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Board.

We are blessed to have a committed and multi-talented Governing Board with a wide variety of experience and expertise.

Foundational Governors

Mrs Deborah Ellmer
Rev Christopher Ingle
Mr Ian Nash
Mrs Fran Phillips
Mrs Erin Keenan
Mrs Joanna Malandain
One Foundation Governor vacancies

LA Governor

Mr Chris Silk

Parent Governor

Mrs Helen Meakins

Staff Governor

Mr Humberto Gonzalez


Mr Peter Byrne

Associate Members

Mrs Verona Hall
Mrs Simrit Bagshaw
Mrs G Byrd
Mrs Jenny Thompson
Mrs Teresa Williams
Mr M England

If you would like to contact our School Governors please do so through the Clerk to the Governors, Mrs Karen Godfrey, address St Oscar Romero Catholic School.